BRASSball Newsletter

November 2008


2008 Playoff Tree

(Updated as of November 1st 2008)


AL Wildcard Series
Brooklyn 0 (AL Wildcard 85w) at Plaza 2 (AL Wildcard 100w)


NL Wildcard Series
Glen Allen 2 (NL Wildcard 85w) at Fleetwood 4 (NL Wildcard 122w)


AL Divisional Series
Hessville 2 (AL East 75w) at Cook County 4 (AL Central 118w)
<AL Wildcard Winner> at Santa Barbara (AL West 108w)


NL Divisional Series
Springfield 1 (AL East 93w) at Bloomington 4 (NL Central 123w)
Fleetwood 4 (NL Wildcard 122w) at Ocala 3 (NL West 108w)

AL Championship Series

<   > at Cook County


NL Championship Series

 Fleetwood (NL Wildcard 122w) at Bloomington (NL Central 123w)


BRASSball World Series

<  > at <  >


Transactions October 2008:

1 Ocala trades Derek Jeter, OCA 2009 #5 to Santa Barbara for Brian Bannister

2 Superior trades Kevin Youkilis, Joel Hanrahan to Cook County for Aaron Laffey, Radhames Liz, Adam Lind, JR Towles, Anibal Sanchez, Nick Masset

3 Superior trades Grant Balfour to Cook County for Cla Meredith, MAU 2009 #3

4 Tinley trades Jason Varitek, $2.5M cash to Springfield for Nate Robertson, CHA 2009 #6

5 Simi Valley trades Mark Buehrle, Joakim Soria to Maine/Ionia for Yovani Gallardo, Carlos Gonzalez, Alexi Casilla, David Price

6 Cook County trades Troy Tulowitzki, Clayton Kershaw to Simi Valley for Jose Reyes, Todd Wellemeyer

7 Ionia trades Robinson Cano, Scott Elbert to Metropolis for Brian Roberts, $150k

8 Ionia trades David DeJesus to Springfield for Mike Gonzalez, $600k

9 Metropolis trades Rafael Furcal, AVE 2010 #6 to Fleetwood for FLE 2010 #3

10 Fleetwood trades Jesus Flores to Simi Valley for VIK 2010 #2, VIK 2009 #3

11 Santa Barbara trades Gary Sheffield, $1.5M, Jamie Burke to Malibu for Blake DeWitt, MAL 2009 #4

12 Thousand Oaks Oaksters trade Roy Halladay, Nick Swisher, Chris Perez, Josh Johnson to Cook County for Alex Rios, Jonathan Sanchez, John Broxton


2008 Awards Voting

The summary tables below show the actual voting results. Ten points are given for a 1st place vote; seven points for a 2nd place vote; five points for a 3rd place vote, and so on.


The 2008 American League MVP is David Ortiz! The voting came down to the final day as David Ortiz beat out Prince Fielder by 3 votes.



The 2008 American League Cy Young award winner is Tim Hudson! Another close race, as Tim Hudson got 7 more votes than runner up CC Sabathia.



The 2008 American League Rookie of the Year is Ryan Braun! No contest here ñ Ryan Braun won unanimously.




The 2008 National League MVP is Hanley Ramirez! The runner-up (and his teammate) Magglio Ordonez, gave him competition by closing in within 6 votes.




The 2008 National League Cy Young award winner is Josh Beckett! The voting wasnít close in this race ñ veteran Greg Maddux was the runner-up.




The 2008 National League Rookie of the Year is Dustin Pedroia! Pedroia picked up all but two first place votes. The runner-up was Manny Corpas.




2008 Rule Proposal Voting Results


Several proposals were either voted in or voted out on narrow margins this year. Looks like 2009 will be another interesting year for revisiting some of these rules. The league is fairly split on some of them. I will provide everyone with an updated League Constitution after it is updated with our new rules.


Here are the final vote totals:


The following rules were voted in for the 2009 season:

#3 Playoff Tie-Breaker:

#4 In-season MO to Y1 contract:

#6 Eliminate Clutch Hitting

#8 Rule Proposal Deadline


For details on these rules, please refer to your voting ballot.


Annual Fees / League Treasury

      We will NOT be collecting annual fees this year. Our Treasury currently stands at $227.

      However, all new members are still required to submit their annual dues of $15.

o      John Fredriksen

o      Jim Knopf

You can mail a check made out to Brian Budzyn at 4467 Aspen Tree Court Moorpark, CA 93021.



Roster File

      The Roster XLS file will be distributed soon with all recent transactions.



Free Agency

      The Roster XLS file contains a list of all Free Agents. I will also be providing the Free Agent bid table and instructions in the next few days. Free Agent bids will be due the first Saturday before the extended Thanksgiving Day Weekend. And we will continue our Thanksgiving Day tradition of kicking off Free Agency on Turkey Day.


Upcoming Deadlines

      November 1 ñ List of restricted and unrestricted free agents distributed by Free Agency Conductor.

      November ìthe Saturday before Thanksgivingî ñ Free Agent Bids deadline. Sealed bids are due to the Free Agency Conductor. The first off-season trading freeze begins at midnight.

      November ìThanksgiving Dayî ñ Free Agency begins.